Hi ... long time lurker ... first time poster to see if we are on track

Lucky_Luke

Confused about dryer sheets
Here are the details based on Gumby’s notes:
1. Current expense is $130k with $1500 mortgage that will be completed in 2.5 years. At retirement the projected expenses will be about $127k (taking into consideration 4% inflation from now until then, removing mortgage and other expenses).

2. For one gap year, we will be using ACA and figuring about $12k for both of us. For LTC, we are planning to self-funded, setting aside about $600k for the last person and if that is not enough the proceeds from selling our home ($500k now) may cover the remaining LTC costs.

3. The expenses that I figured are based on the detailed and tracked spreadsheet of all needs, wants, and wishful. I have also figured into the expenses all the one-time costs (at different intervals). I have been tracking our expenses for the past two years. Thus it is pretty accurate picture of our expenses. We have room to reduce if needed.

4. No major lifestyle changes

5. Sources of income:
Pension (non-cola): $70k (assuming I stayed until I retire at 65 in five years, if not, it’s $4200 at 65 if I retired or quit right now). Thus I have a pair of silver handcuffs.
Social security (his at 67): $28k (five years short of 30 to not have WEP applied)
Social security (hers at 70): $45k
Total: $143k

The pension has 100% survivor benefits for my wife if I decide to leave early. Thus, for her income when I'm gone, it'll be my pension + her ss or roughly $115k.

Vice versa, if she leaves early, it'll be my pension + my ss (since it's more than her ss survivor bene) or roughly $98k.

6. Yes, these are the projected pension/social security numbers from their respective calculators.

7. I have visited social security admin site many times and have figured WEP/GPO impacts.

8. I have done the tax projection, including RMDs at 75.

9. Nest eggs are as follows (round numbers)