Hi, This is Cloud from Canada.

cloud

Confused about dryer sheets
When I graduated from high school in 2003, I had no clue what I wanted to do. My interest is electronic and stuff like that. My sister suggested that I should study Engineering. Without much knowledge about the real world, I didn't know how to make my own choice. I enrolled in Electrical Engineering.
During my first year of university, I ran into a book called "Rich dad poor dad", it completely changed my life. I realized that's what I really want: Freedom. Financial freedom is one of the biggest freedom we can dream of. So I spent lots of my after school time to teach myself budgeting and investing while slacking on the school work. I failed couple courses here and there but managed to get a Bachelor degree with a C- GPA. I graduated in 2008 and that was the start of the global recession. I applied for jobs and didn't even get an interview. I read a thread here asking what's the ethic of ERE and my answer is: They didn't give me a chance to contribute. So that's it, I'm on my own to the road of FI. I worked part time during school and paid off the student loan right after graduation. After 2008, I ended up working for a computer reseller as a purchaser. All I did is sitting in a cubicle all day staring at the computer. It's so boring. I saved for 3 years and here I am today: own a small condo townhouse and start building my stock portfolio. It's been doing well in the past 4 years. It averaged 12% per year.
I can't find like minded people around me. I seem to be so focused on my goal that I don't bother hanging out with people because we don't have the same goal and value. I feel bit lonely but when I have better financial freedom, I can do something I really like or volunteering and spiritual development.
At this rate, my liquid asset should exceed the mortgage in about 5 years and that''ll be a small milestone for my journey to FI.

Welcome to another Canuck.