Housing Crisis or Dilemma

Penny6

Dryer sheet aficionado
Hello all, this is my first post (sorry so long). I am a 30 y/o nurse of 7 years who has just recently resigned to become a domestic engineer. My husband is a 34 y/o chemical engineer supervisor. We have our eyes on the prize for early retirement. Goal retirement date is 2034 to seal in a pension from my husbands job. Goal financial indepence date 2029. He works for a major oil company and started out as a young intern 19yo in college(all years count toward pension!). Our current NW is about 770k including company stock, Roth IRA's, Traditional IRAs, 401k, kids 529s, equity in home and 2 vehicles. We currently max out all retirement options 401k (company contributes 10% of salary automatically), roth IRAs, and contribute to other retirement vehicles as well as to our kids college funds. Our plan is to be completely debt free by the end of 2019 by paying off our home aggressively as it is our last debt. We have started doing some work on it over the last couple of years and this year an additional expenses of aircon replacement on top of planned reno projects. I really want to buy land and build a home we will be in long term. We bought our cookie cutter home 10yrs ago. I am really torn at this point because I know once the house is paid off we will be swiftly on our way to our financial independence goal date. We may have about 75k equity with 120k mortgage left- It should be more but the actual importance of debt freedom in reaching our other goals took a little while to sink in. We had 3 debt snowball cycles, on baby step 6 now! I have made many list and have been reading about your home being one of the major expenses in retirement. I do not see future family Christmas partys here, or grandchildren running free here.