Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

I think im doing it, suddenly
Old 07-13-2013, 07:42 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

I think im doing it, suddenly

Hi-

I am 38

No kids, no marriage, no property except a car. (I prefer renting nice modern lofts as a single guy)

I worked in the technology sector for years as an engineering exec.

I have had many jobs over the last 15 years and always hated the politics involved in the workplace to make a good 100-200K per year or more.

An old company I was at in the early 90's just sold where I held a sizable payment from stock. I have 2.5M cash after taxes.

Right now I plan to;

- Drop all of the $$ into Vanguard with a 85% stock / 10% bonds / 5% cash split
- Live off of my 100K in savings till next year
- Make first draw on the investment portfolio next year and see how long I can do it?

I do not have many monthly expenses so I can draw low and higher / lower with a flux market. I wouldn't intend to spend more than 4% per year and likely can get by with 3% or 2%

I feel pretty free right now and think I should just go for it.

I would move from Nevada to Washington. Thinking about just going into business for myself doing technology consulting when I can stomach it and using the investment portfolio income as my "base executive salary" making my own bonuses on the side in consulting when I feel like buying something big or get bored (like do a bunch of consulting the year before I need a new car)?

Firecalc says I would do well under many conditions.

Plus I have other private company stock out there that could return an additional 1-5M cash in the next 2-3 years given how its going.

I think I am ready to do this.

Of course its new so scary.

Am I daft?

Am I ready?