Join Early Retirement Today

I'm ready to leave
Old 11-02-2008, 07:47 AM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

I'm ready to leave

I was a teacher of Automechanics for 17 years with the NYC Board of Education(as it was called then. Now the Department of Education). I left and transfered my time to my present job of Automechanic for the NYC Department of Correction. As of January 24, 2009 I will have completed 24 years of service. I am in my early 50's and am inroled in the Auto 25 retirement program. (50 years of age and 25 years of service) For a while I was hearing that there was an early retirement incentive in the works. now I'm hearing nothing. Has anyone heard anything and I welcome any feed back.
DOCMECH is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-02-2008, 09:33 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

It looks like, worst case, you only have to work 1 more year. That sounds pretty good to me.
Old 11-02-2008, 03:56 PM   #3
Dryer sheet wannabe

past incentive practice