Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Introduction: Pondering ER
Old 01-13-2007, 09:31 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Introduction: Pondering ER

I've been reading this forum for the last few months and officially registered a few days ago. The following is a brief introduction (well, I guess it isn't so brief).

First, I'm 47, single with no dependents except for pets, live in the suburbs of the San Francisco Bay Area, and hope to ER sometime between 10 minutes and 6 years from now. I've been a research scientist at a large government laboratory for the past 15.5 years (in school or the equivalent before that).

Based on the methodology outlined in previous threads, my net worth is a little over 2M (680K non retirement accounts + 300K retirement accounts + 600K pension + 550K house - 110K mortgage + 10K misc). I'm a relatively conservative investor (65% equities, 15% bonds, 20% cash or equivalent).

I consider myself a frugal person. In fact, some people here might prefer the words deprived, cheap, or stingy. My expenses over the last 6 years have averaged about 30K/yr (12K mortgage + 3K property taxes + 2K utilities + 1K house maintenance + 0.5K home insurance + 0.5K auto insurance + 1K auto expenses + 3K charity + 1K other gifts + 6K general living and recreation expenses). That's been pretty constant, except for 25K in veterinary bills two years ago.

My income (salary) is currently about 180K/yr, and it has significantly increased since 1995 (i.e., 72K in 1995; 115K in 2000). My expenses to salary ratio is about 16%. Minus 50K taxes, I'm currently able to save/invest about 100K/yr.