I've decided to coast (fire)

gtweath

Dryer sheet aficionado
Hello! I'm 57, married and have 2 kids who are both now out of the nest. My house is paid for and I have almost no debt. I've been a retail pharmacist for 26 years, most of that at a popular southeastern grocery store based in Florida. The first 15+ years I found the career challenging, but enjoyable. Due to a number of reasons, such as heavier regulation (state, federal, insurance), diminishing insurance reimbursement and online competition leading to corporate expectation of greater workloads with less help, and the ability of computers to monitor an ever expanding list of KPI's the workplace has morphed from challenging to almost brutal. I'm not at a point that I can afford to stop work entirely now, but I do have enough currently saved to retire comfortably when SS kicks in. Starting January I am resigning from my full time manager role, and transitioning to a part time "floating" position within the same company. I will no longer receive benefits (hello ACA subsidies), but will be able to afford my current lifestyle with about half the hours and no management pressures. Even though I will have to drastically decrease additions to savings, my current nest egg will be able to continue to grow until I decide to quit entirely and start taking SS. This forum has been and will continue to be a huge inspiration and education as I make the transition from full time work to part time and beyond.

This is what I call having an overflow of your "f*kkit bucket"! Sounds like you're ready. Have you run Firecalc or any other retirement calculators?

I have a similar story and thinking of doing the same thing. I've had enough of mega corps insane deadline after insane deadline. Mine is in IT and whatever you deliver is never enough. You used to get a thank you after a project was completed, but now all you get is - what is status of next project?