Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Jumping in the pond at 54
Old 04-03-2010, 03:02 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Jumping in the pond at 54

Hi everyone! I am new to this world of finance after being married for 16 years relying on my X for socking away cash for our "golden" years. As I am grateful he did I now find myself responsible for taking control of my part of the settlement which is coming any time, now. I will have approximately 400 K transfered into an IRA in the next few weeks.

After lots of pondering, surfing and talking to my own accountant I have come to realize that it is all very confusing and hard to decide who has the answers!

Here is my scenario. I earn 60K a year. I am 54. My goal is to retire at 60. I am buying a property in a resort area that is with an overnight rental agency. My portion of the rental will total somewhere around 13K a year. I am able to secure 100% financing at a low interest rate with a local bank where I live. In a perfect world I would own half a dozen or so by retirement...

Here is what I understand from what I have learned in the last two days---sorry but my lingo will no where measure up to all of you seasoned investors due to the fact that I didn't feel like I needed to understand any of this before--- dumb on my part, I might add

I can open a Self Directed IRA LLC but getting a non recourse loan from my bank will be difficult as they might be concerned about repayment in case of unforeseen financial problems I may have. I also think the tax issues with the rental income being split by what I owe might be confusing, if I decide to put down a substantial down payment with part of the original IRA (of which I will get hammered with the penalty for doing so, of course).
and/or