Join Early Retirement Today

Just turned 40, married, no kids
Old 12-25-2015, 11:32 AM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

Just turned 40, married, no kids

So I hit the big 4-0 and I'm wondering whether it's time to early retire. Married, no kids at the moment, wife does not work. I doubt I would completely retire, maybe work part time for a while or take a lower stress lower paying job, maybe work as a seasonal park ranger in a national park over the summers, or just look for the next big thing. All options are open, but I probably won't just spend the rest of my life playing golf and gardening. I would love to travel around the country in an RV for major portions of the year, maybe taking locum jobs (I'm a physician) for maybe a week or two every other month, and maybe try my hand at writing in my free time. For planning purposes I would say I could conservatively earn a supplemental income of maybe 20-30k per year working locums jobs until I am actually ready to really retire around 65. Current income is 420k, but not really enjoying my work anymore. I could take a full time job I think I would enjoy for half the salary, but then I'd be working the same hours as now and not really enjoying the freedom and excitement of trying something new.

So my assets are a 450k home with no mortgage, 450k in retirement accounts, 1.2 million in non-retirement accounts. Spending currently is about 80k per year. I've been tracking my expenses very carefully over the past several years, so I'm fairly confident in that spending amount, though if I quit my job, buying health insurance will be the major additional unknown going forward given the seemingly precarious future of Obamacare. But I think we can get our spend down to 60k by downsizing to a condo, selling second car, and spending less on food (currently $1200 per month), to give us a buffer for health insurance.