Lagging behind newbie

Zonker

Confused about dryer sheets
Hello all, newbie here. Seeking advice for retirement planning based on following: I am early 40's, wife and I have combined income of about 42,000. We have zero debt with the exception of two mortgages for two single family homes that we rent out. The combined mortgage amount is 140,000. We are able to live rent free presently - our housing is included where we work. We both have 10 years at our company (we work at same place) and will be fully vested in the pension plan in another five years. I have about 20,000 in a Roth IRA (target date fund w/ T-Rowe Price), 40,000 in an emergency fund (MMA & CD's), 8,000 in I & EE bonds, and a mutual fund with Putnam valued at about 12,000. I am sure my savings/investments are on the low side, but a good thing is the lack of debt. I have been paying extra principal on the first rental house, about 100.00 month on average. We fixed up both homes so they are very nice and fully rented, and we would not have a problem living in either one. The first home's mortgage is about 50,000; the second is about 90,000. So there you have it; I have tried to include everything. Hopefully I am doing some things right, but I know I am lagging behind where I probably should be with regard to savings. We don't expect an extravagent retirement but we'd like to retire not having to worry about running out of money. My wife will probably retire @ 60; I will likely go to at least 65 - 67 is my full SS retirement age. I don't really know our pension amounts; I'd guess around 800/month for my wife and 1100/month for me. Probably close to the same for Social Security, if it's there - but that's another post! Sorry to ramble but I wanted to give as much info as possible so I can get some input from others. Any advice/tips will be greatly appreciated.

Zonker, welcome to the board!