Join Early Retirement Today

Late bloomer...
Old 08-17-2004, 09:50 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Late bloomer...

Hello,

I am a physical therapist. I have my own practice. First year in business, and I am schedule to make about $140K gross.

27 years old. Professional for 2.5 years now.

$10,000 in my IRA.
$10,000 cash in a ING account.

Will try to maximize my IRA and SEP contributions this year, I first need to situate myself so that my only monthly obligations are:

1. Business rent
2. Personal rent (who's for me living in my office?)
3. Student loans
4. % to my billing company
5. Utilities

Which I am about 3 months away from accomplishing.

In 2005 my goals are to:

1. Determine whether expanding and incorporating are worth it (time and money vs. headache).
2. Start my financial snowball.

So far I have met with a planner. He wants me to have
a. $20K in liquid form (not there yet)
b. get personal health insurance (done)
c. get long term care insurance (done), disability (done), and life insurance (done).
d. achieve my goals from above and then start stockpiling money away.

What do you think so far?

Thanks.
LRAO is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!