Join Early Retirement Today

Law school (check), debt paid down (check), retirement (...)
Old 07-25-2014, 12:35 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Law school (check), debt paid down (check), retirement (...)

Hello,

I'm 29, a lawyer making ~$100K, just paid off all of my debt, have ~$20K in retirement (Roth IRA and SEP-IRA) and want to begin my journey toward financial independence and retirement. Fortunately, I love my work and working (sure, I may change my tune after a decade or two), so may not ever formally retire. But I would like the option to.

Goals: purchase a new car (my 200,000+ mile Honda is nearing the end), purchase a house (in the SF Bay Area, no less) and save for big life things (wedding, kids, retirement).

Since I just paid off my debt I am just beginning to put money into savings, but am more intrigued by investments. That said, I desire a certain amount of liquidity, should opportunities present themselves for a car or house.

I would love some feedback or referrals to certain threads on (a) the best approaches to planning long-term, (b) the right balance of savings v. investments given my more immediate desired purchases and (c) anything else you can suggest!

Looking forward to getting to know you folks.
WhatsinaName is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!