Looking for some reassurance

Ready2Go

Recycles dryer sheets
I joined the forum a couple years back, intending to retire at 60. Then, I decided 58 (2023). Now, I made a New Year's resolution to myself that I was going to retire and/or change jobs this calendar year. DW & I will both be 55. I'll spare the details but it's the usual...Megacorp has become a major slog...management changes, reorgs, etc. Also, had a couple of acquaintances pass away in the last year that were roughly my age. :(

So, here are the numbers...assuming I hang it up on 12/31/20. Firecalc gives me 100%, but I'm a Firecalc novice. These are combined...where appropriate...with DW.

Projected retirement nestegg - $1.9 mil (includes my $500k pension lump sum) Approx 10% is Roth...the rest is pre-tax.
Soc Sec - $44k (conservative annual estimate for both...beginning in 2027)
Pension (DW) - $43k per year beginning in 2021. ($18k of this is COLA beginning in 2027.
Debt - $0

Annual burn - $127,500 (gross) . This is the FAT number. Could trim 15-20% without much pain.

TIA!

DW & I will both be 55. I'll spare the details but it's the usual...Megacorp has become a major slog...management changes, reorgs, etc. Also, had a couple of acquaintances pass away in the last year that were roughly my age. :(

+1

There is something about 55.... A former coworker told me about several friends of hers who all passed away or developed life changing illnesses at 55. I have had the same experience myself with friends and family. My sibling was diagnosed with cancer at 55 and passed away at 56. A neighbor had a massive coronary at 55 and had to abandon his early retirement plans for travel and good times. He must always be near a very good heart hospital.

I don't mean to scare you. I made it through the 50's fine, though the 60's have tossed a few unexpected zingers at me. They have or are being dealt with with no major changes in life plans.