Looking for Thoughts

bobie

Dryer sheet wannabe
I just turned 40, single dad, have a 18 year old on her third year at collage (she's planning on 18 more months), and I'm $14,000 in "dept" (new van).

I have been maxing out my IRA for the last 15 years. I do not know how much is in the account.
$545,000 in 2040 mutual funds.
$855,000 in 2050 mutual funds.
$975,000 in 2060 mutual funds.
$798,000 in 2070 mutual funds.
I keep around $35,000 in easy to get to cash.

I work part time at a hospital and can retire from them in 11 months and looks like I would get $1,200 a month for life. I have not been able to see what I would get I if worked longer, but I'm on the list to sit down with the retirement person at work, but will not be able to sit down with him till COVID lightens up a bit.
I stream video games on line and sell merchandise. Yes I pay medicare tax on my "pay".

I'm a double amputee so good health insurance is would be nice and I use a wheelchair 100% of the time.
My house is was custom built for me and is setup for wheelchairs.

I no longer like going to work at the hospital 2 days a week and would easily be able to cover health insurance if I added 1 more 4 hour streaming day a week to my life.

I'm just looking for some thoughts as I have never looked into retirement.

Last edited:
I just turned 29, single dad, have a 18 year old on her third year at collage (she's planning on 18 more months), and I'm $14,000 in "dept" (new van).

I have been maxing out my IRA for the last 15 years. I do not know how much is in the account.

How old are you:confused:

Welcome, I'll assume the age is a typo?

You have over 3M in investments, and a paid off home, a small pension, and a small streaming revenue income (for now at least).

Aside from everything else mentioned, you'd be good to go, but probably want to get a better understanding on your investments and budget and healthcare options.

Losing virginity at age 11... I'm impressed. How old was the Mom?