Miserable working, what should I do

Iwantfire

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi everyone, this is my first post. Im 21 years old and I work as a welder. Im absolutely miserable everyday at my job. I hate it so much that I spend most of my time at home dreading going back to work. I guess I hate being there all day and being bored. Plus I dont like being around other people because im shy and have anxiety. Id much rather stay at home and be able to do things I want to do.

Im thinking about trying to find another job but im not sure if it would help because I hated the job I had before this one and I hated high school too. I have a roth ira and brokerage account with vanguard and I invest as much as I can but im still a very long way from financial independence. Right now I have about 20000 between my two accounts. Its easy for me to save money because I really dont eat out much or go shopping and I live a fairly simple life.

Any ideas on what I should do? If you need any more info about me please feel free to ask. Thanks

It's called work for a reason. Most people do not jump out of bed every morning to go put in their hours... but we do it anyway. I suggest you find a way to like it better because you are a long way from FIRE. Good luck to you.

It's called work for a reason. Most people do not jump out of bed every morning to go put in their hours... but we do it anyway. I suggest you find a way to like it better because you are a long way from FIRE. Good luck to you.

What CaliKid said.

You're probably a good person but just in the wrong job. Go find a job that will at least keep you interested and somewhat enjoy.

I wasn't the most outgoing person when working either, and I worked with the public. But I did the best I could and got out. No one can change their personality. But at 21, you are just getting started. All I can suggest is to try and find something you can make money at that you enjoy. Save, save , and save. Invest in the stock market.