Join Early Retirement Today

My FIRE Game Plan
Old 09-29-2006, 10:56 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

My FIRE Game Plan

Hi everyone,

I’ve been lurking around here for about a year or more now and really dig this site. I am 31 and my wife is 32. She and I have been dreaming and planning the road to FIRE for a few years now. We have a 2 year old child and our careers are just now starting to really get off the ground so the going has been slow. But at least we have a solid game plan and are socking money away as best we can.

I work for the Federal Government and my lady works for a public school district – yup, two more Guv’mint workers. We make good money together and have secure jobs, but we live in a really high cost of living area – coastal Southern California. However, we are proud homeowners and live comfortably, but not extravagantly. We definitely live below our means and are saving now around 20% of our gross income in retirement accounts. This should go up to ~30% in another year or so after all debt is paid off, except the mortgage.

As far as FIRE, here is my overall game plan:

- Have NO debt (except 30 year fixed mortgage at 5.7% interest)
- Pay cash for everything
- Continue to put the maximum in our two Roth IRA’s, invested in low-cost index funds at Vanguard.
- Put maximum annual contribution in TSP (401k for Feds) each year with an aggressive and diversified allocation.
- Possibly start wife’s 457 or 403b, or consider taxable investing as income continues to rise.