My worst day in early retirement...

frugalguy

Confused about dryer sheets
...has so far been better than my best day at work :) I've never regretted retiring at 48.

I'm 55 (less 1 day) and have known of this forum for about a year, so I thought it would be a good idea to join and share ideas here.

I worked in the electronics field for the province (Ontario). While I still very much enjoyed the work and technical challenges, the ever-increasing politics and resultant stress prompted me to reassess my life priorities. There were a number of other factors (e.g. some family predispositions) that prompted the change as well.

While I've done this on far less than most would have the guts to, I have no dependents and am lucky enough to receive a partially-indexed employer pension starting this April. Throw in Canada's CPP at 60 and OAS at 65, and I can get by well enough. A comfortable home, car, good food, a few annual vacations, friends, good health, and new interests and challenges are all I want or need.

I'm unlikely to succumb to Alzheimers, as fairly complicated spreadsheeting is a key element of my plan. My investments are conservative, as I discovered my 'real' risk tolerance in 2000 :eek:.

As Ernie J. Zelinski in his book(s) quoted Ben Kerr (Toronto busker): "I don't want to be he richest guy in the graveyard."

http://www.thejoyofnotworking.com/ebook/1001BestThingsSaidaboutWork.pdf

Welcome to the board.
It is nice to hear people retiring early and getting to enjoy what they worked for.

Hi F'guy and welcome.

I too worked 30 years in electronics. After a couple of years of ER I looked at what had happened since. The degree of change was amazing.

d0ug said:
Welcome to the board.
It is nice to hear people retiring early and getting to enjoy what they worked for.