Join Early Retirement Today

New Guy - 24 with Piss and Vinegar!
Old 01-30-2008, 03:24 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

New Guy - 24 with Piss and Vinegar!

This forum is something special. It's almost the exact opposite of what we keep reading about the average American consumer. It's good to hear the voice of reason.

This is my first post. I am lucky enough to have the old-school advice and wherewithall of my ailing grandfather who as soon as I graduated from college, took me off to the side and discussed a budget. It's pretty crazy that I made it through college without really ever thinking too far ahead. My career would have gotten off to a better start had I done so, and I wouldn't have overdrawn my checking account numerous times while in school.

Getting my engineering degree while playing baseball was quite a load, however. I'm happy to have gotten through, looking back. I lived at home for one year after school, saved up some decent money, worked for a shady employer who ended up sheisting me out of 3,000$ (good to learn that lesson early on), but have gotten off to a decent start. I'm kind of bummed that going on three years now, I haven't saved quite enough to put 20% down on a new house (I'm looking to be in the 200k range), but I've maxed out 2 years of an IRA in addition to my 8% 401k with my new company (1.5 years). My parents the saints payed for most of college excluding one small 10k loan, and I have 5k left on a gas hungry vehicle to pay off (would have changed that purchase looking back). The only reason I'm looking in the 200k for a house range, is that pretty much to not buy a house from the 50s that's a shack, that's how much they cost right now in central Florida. Toast to crashing housing market!