houstonhasher

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi-

I am new to this site and thought I'd introduce myself. I'm a 38 yr old geologist in Houston. I was in school a long time (PhD) and have been working 6 years for an energy company. I get a decent salary and great benifits (8% company match). I have my 401(k) maxed out and have a small house with a 15 year mortage at 5.25% interest. However, I have no other savings.

I am considering an offer from another company that would boost my salary about 15% and give me a signing bonus ($20-30,00). How can I tell if it makes sense to jump? If I stay with my current employer I keep my pension. Anyone have a feel on what if it is worth it to give up the pension for a salary increase?

Advice welcome!

. . .
I am considering an offer from another company that would boost my salary about 15% and give me a signing bonus ($20-30,00).  How can I tell if it makes sense  to jump?  If I stay with my current employer I keep my pension.  Anyone have a feel on what if it is worth it to give up the pension for a salary increase?

Advice welcome!
Houston,
I'm afraid my crystal ball won't be of much value to you. There are just too many variables.

In 1996, my wife and I faced a similar decision. We both were working for the same company. She had been there 11 years, I for 9. Another company offered us very attractive increases in our salaries, better benefits package, hiring bonus, etc. We looked at it and decided that if we took the offer we would be able to retire in 5 years (after we got vested in the new company's pension program). We would be giving up some with the old company pension, but would be gaining much more.