Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

New Member Eligible at 50
Old 09-08-2021, 04:28 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

New Member Eligible at 50

Hi all,
I have a pretty easy but uninspiring and sometimes annoying job. I am eligible for reduced at pension at 50 with 10 years service. I can have it bumped up and end when I am 62. Presumably social Security can take over then. I also get to keep the cheap healthcare but it has a 3k deductible. Its like 150 a month for family.
I got in trap about 14 years ago where i was stuck in a job I hated with out many prospects other than changing industries and taking a big pay cut. I had a mortgage and a house that wouldn't sell. It was then I started thinking of disappearing in my sailboat....
I started learning about real estate investing and eventually found a much better job that I have now. In 2015 I bought a home with VA loan and rented out the one I was living in. I did cash out refi on old address and bought 4 fixer upper townhouses. The next year I took loan against 401K and bought 3 more. Recently I got into buying second homes and have a Cabin in a famous vacation area and a beach house. These are full time AIRBNBs. I am trying to get another before I retire.
These investments are close to replacing my w-2 income. I will still work the real estate and probably keep investing if I can get any more loans with no w-2 job.
One of my dreams is to get a captains license and charter a catamaran where I am the owner. Also wouldn't mind being a fishing guide or travelling in my RV.
Problem is my wife isn't keen on sailing with me because we argue too much. the feeling is pretty mutual. I have a 15 year old daughter and we are very close. She is homeschooled. The other reason my wife can't sail is because she is taking care of her parents who are 83.