New Member, Just Wanted to Say Hi

Henman004

Dryer sheet aficionado
Hello all! My name is Jeff. I am 27 years old, and have been in the USAF almost 10 years. My plan is to complete another 10 years, and hopefully be FIRE'd.

I have been dreaming about early retirement for years. Allow me to give you some background info:

I started working when I was 12, detasseling corn. I had my first real job at 15, bagging groceries. I worked a few other jobs until I was 18 and joined the Air Force.

Fortunately, I have a father that was looking out for my future because he helped me open my first Roth IRA when I was 17. He helped me invest some money my first year, but once I joined the Air Force, I was out on my own. I didn't really get serious about saving/investing until I was about 20, and deployed for the first time. I figured I needed to do something with my money rather than just spend it on things I don't need. Long story short, I have been maxing out my Roth IRA since I was 20 years old.

Today, I have about $60K in my Roth IRA, invested 100% in 4 different equity index mutual funds. I have a taxable account with another $60K (I match my Roth IRA dollar for dollar). I do not contribute to TSP because my taxes are already very low, and US military does not give a match. I am recently married with my first baby on the way. I helped my wife open up a Roth IRA, and she already has $10.5K in it.

Although becoming FIRE'd is very important to me, I do take the time to enjoy life. I spent 5 years overseas, travelled to more than 70 countries, and I am getting ready to be stationed overseas again in the UK.

At this time, I don't really have any questions, but I am looking forward to imparting some of the wisdom I have learned in my young age, as well as, picking the brains of some of the much "wiser" not "older" folks out there.

Welcome aboard, Henmann! And thanks for your service.