New to the Boards

SJ1_

Full time employment: Posting here.
Hi I am 59yrs old who has been lurking for awhile. Great site!
I am married and plan to retire with the class of 2012. Invested mainly
In Real Estate and as we sold most of our properties we dumped the maximum money into 401k and 457 for a number of years. I work as a computer programmer and my wife is a manager. We have always lived way below our means. We pretty much have been living on one salary since 1994. We had no idea how well we were doing until read a number of books on retirement in the Past 6 months.
It is still hard to get my head around to that. I spent so many years getting to this point that it is still hard to imagine I can retire soon. Plan to start with winters in Florida Feb. 2013 and we are not sure where we will spend the rest of the time. We been to a number of potential places over the years and we liked so far we like the Knoxville area the best in the north and the St. Petersburg are in the south.
We are very active and love to travel. We usually take 2 – 3 vacations a year and spend most summer weekends at our lake house in the Georgia Mountains.

Welcome to the board!! MY DW and I hope to be in the class of 2012 0r 2013. Still trying to get my head around the retirement as well.

Hi SJ1. Welcome to the forum. You live below your means, like to vacation, and plan to early retire soon. Looks like you'll fit right in. Hope you enjoy your time here.

Welcome to the forum!

We have looked at Knoxville on and off for many years.
A short vacation to the Gatlinburg area ( and Knoxville) in May got us reinvigorated once again.
Hope you will share your findings about this area..

Welcome to the forum, as MichaelB said you will fit right in. Have to confess we naturally LBOM and saved & invested all we could thinking we'd never reach our "number" only to find one day that we had way more than enough. Like many here you will find. Sweet...

Knoxville

Welcome to the forum!