Newbie Here

cyndo

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi y'all. I discovered this forum recently and have made the decision to actively participate some.

A bit about me. I (38), my husband (32) and our two kids (5 and 3 1/2) live in expensive California. I'm a SAHM, DH works in technology. We have approx. $120k in 401(k), about $8k in stocks and we just put $180k down on our house, with a mortgage of $365k (which isn't bad for California!). No other debt or car payments and we don't expect to need a new car for a few years, at the earliest. We also have about $7k in savings, but we keep that for emergency house repairs and the like and don't consider that part of our long-term savings. We want to make sure we have enough set aside for emergencies and travel so we, hopefully, won't have to touch our retirement savings. Additionally, we have about $5k saved for our kids' college in 529 plans and about $1k saved for them.

Right now, we live a bit below our means, but would like to conserve and save more.

Welcome from another California person. My wife retired a few months back & I have a year or so to go. One kid still at home, a senior in HS, I guess that makes my wife a SAHM for the first time in many years. It sounds like you have the basics covered in LBYM, no debt except for mortgage, an emergency fund and the start of savings. I do not know if you ar exactly racing towards ER but that is not a necesary goal and there will be a lot of interesting life & expenses with a couple preschoolers in your life. If you have particular questions about investments, this is a good place. If you have any other questions this may be a good place too :D (see Other Topics)

yakers said: