Newbie here, 38 and struggling with guilt from working too much

Kdawn

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi all! I've been reading up on the FIRE community and I must say it is inspiring! My whole life I've been conditioned to work, work, work...I even only took two weeks maternity leave for my babies. I'm 38 now and I'm struggling with regrets of not having spent more time with my family. I really can't imaging working until 65 at this rate. I'd really love to hear more about the emotional side of the decision to retire early and how you handle it when people question why you would want to do it?

My situation is that I've worked at the same company since grad school (almost 15 years now). I'm drained and it is very stressful. I have a lot of responsibility and even when I do get vacation I spend part of it dragging along a laptop to work. We have three children and have made bad decisions regarding money. When we made more, we spent more - two house, expensive cars, student loans (mine), home improvements, daycare, the list goes on and on. We worked so much often times we'd find ourselves buying our kids stuff as a way to make up for the fact we spent so little time with them. That hurts so bad, I have immense guilt over this.

Over the last two years I've embraced a much more minimalist outlook. Fast forward to today, we have finally gotten our act together. All debt is paid off except for our house. My husband makes around 105K and I make 85K. My entire paycheck now goes into savings. My husband loves his job and will not retire until 55. At that age he will get a pension that will cover all our expenses. I'm struggling with quitting now or toughing it out another year or two to really pack our savings. Also, since I'm in my thirties many of my friends look at me like I'm crazy for wanting to quit a good paying job. I'd love to know your thoughts! I'm open to any feedback and suggestions. Thank you!