Join Early Retirement Today

Newbie Here
Old 10-13-2015, 11:57 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Newbie Here

Hi,
Newbie, freshly retired as of 01/2015. 62 yrs old. Divorced. I was actually forced to retire because of health issue. Short term disability insurance had run out and didn't have long term disability insurance so I took early retirement option to keep from losing house which I had to refi during divorce to give her half. I was not ready or really wanting to retire until at least 65 ys. old because ex got half of everything when we divorced 5 yrs back. I was able to buy her out of retirement pension.
Currently drawing pension and SS disabilty but still having a rough time seeing daylight. Probably should try to find a part-time job but not sure I could handle it. Have approx $260,000 in 401K with fidelity and they driving me crazy wanting to handle investing it. Anyone have pro's and con's of doing so? Currently not taking any investment payout of 401K. Just letting it roll over with some GE stock and other bonds.
Advice will be listened to.
Hurri is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!