One Income Family of 4 working towards FIRE! Feedback please!

catccc

Recycles dryer sheets
Hi All! I've been thinking about early retirement since I was in my early 20s. And the numbers looked so good when I was single w/o kids and savings accounts were paying 6%! I'm 33 now and married with 2 young kids. DH is 35 and our DDs are 3 & 1. I work as an accountant full time, and DH stays home with the girls.

Having a stay at home parent is important to us. I stayed home for the 1st 15 months of DD #1's life, but as the primary earner, the plan was always for DH to stay home. I really disliked my job when I was pregnant with our first, and we ran the numbers and figured we could swing it for a year or so. We went from a combined income of 108K to just DH's of about 28K. Amazingly, we did not have to spend a penny of our savings, we just made do with the 28K. 399 sqft 1 BR apartment, but we loved our life. I was, and still am, so proud of that year!

Anyway, back to reality, I returned to work in early 2010, and now DH stays home. Had our 2nd daughter in 2011, and a 1BR apartment is no longer practical!

Here are our stats:

Income: 85K + Bonus (6-8K). I'll see an increase in March 2013.

Expenses for the last 12 months:
Rent- $14,400 (hope to buy a home soon!)
Groceries- $4,852
Travel- $4,712
Restaurants- $3,591
Utilities- $3,377 (1/3= heating oil, 2/3= electric, internet, other)
Insurance- $2,856 ($667 life, $1,883 2 cars, $281= rent, motorcycle, jewelry)
Gas- $1,987
Kids Stuff- $1,880 ($1,100 preschool, started this year, $500 Y dues/classes)
Auto- $1,844 (4 tires, 1 battery, 2 other repairs, inspections, maintenance)
Clothing/Shoes- $1,109
Other- $3,664 ($1,000 unaccounted cash, $870 Household, $490 Entertainment, $370 charity. $240 hobbies, remainder misc.)

Total: 43K spent in 1 year.