Join Early Retirement Today

possible retirement
Old 04-19-2009, 07:11 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

possible retirement

Hi,
I will be 55 may 20 2009 I have a chance to retire as of rune 1 2009, I will get 95 % of my pension after that it will go down to 90%(i would be losing $160/month) .Then it will go down to 88% Jan 2010 then gradually go back up to 100% when you reach 60 years of age. I am a construction electrician and the work has been very spotty maybe if I am lucky I would work 5 months out of the year. Where I work at web had an actuary come in and our pension fund is not doing so good because of the market .
I would be eligible for $ 2500 per month by the time I take fed with holding taxes out and health insurance it would be about 2200/month.
If I stay the next 5 years our multiplier is $50/year of service and I would only get about 70% of that which would be $35 dollars which would be another $175 /month I am just wondering if it is worth while hanging around .
I feel to young to retire but I would like to make an educated financial decision .
Thanks in advance ,

Ralph
rdema is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!