Join Early Retirement Today

Recent college grad here
Old 09-08-2004, 01:44 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Recent college grad here

Hi all,
Graduated college earlier this year and started working for a large employer making a decent starting salary. It took me about 2 months to realize that unless I made an effort to collect appreciating assets, I would be stuck on the wage-slavery path for the rest of my life. Sure, it wouldn't be an uncomfortable existence, but I don't want to live my live depending on that paycheck every two weeks...I want the freedom to be able to take time off from work or make a radical career change before I reach 59 1/2. Someone tipped me off on this website and I think it's great!

I majored in finance so I understand the basic principles underlying personal finance...compoudning, the equity markets, bonds, other investment options, macro vs. microeconomic factors, etc. Now I'm trying to translate the classroom lessons into a strategic plan to avoid perpetual wage-slavery. I believe that the markets are mostly efficient so I go for diversification across a variety of asset classes.

Anyway, feel free to PM me if you're a twenty-something that's started thinking about ER. So far I have only found one other person in this age bracket who shares my viewpoint. Thinking about setting up a blog to chronicle the journey (similar to pfblog.com) if you have any interest in contributing...could be good to have some accountability partners. I've also started putting together basic income statements and balance sheets to detail my financial position over time, may try to post some of them here later. Cheers!
soupcxan is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!