Retired @ 55. H4H volunteer. Disruptive Philanthropist

Tesla boomer

Confused about dryer sheets
Just joined today after a friend referred me. I retired on May 1, 2020. I worked 26 years for HP and another 5 with Red Hat Software before retiring. I was a software engineer.

I was never a FIRE guy. I started thinking about retirement in 2019 and I talked to many people and watched many videos on retiring early. Several people said that it was important to figure out how you will spend your time in retirement in a meaningful way. One person suggested to look back on your life and think of times you really felt satisfied doing something outside of work. The thing that popped into my mind was helping with construction projects at school work parties for my kids' Waldorf school. We built fences, decks, and did other things like re-roofing a barn and laying flooring in several rooms. The camaraderie I had felt during those times was the best. So, I decided to look into volunteering with my local Habitat for Humanity affiliate. I did 1 day a week while I was still working. And as I approached my retirement day, I was doing 3 days a week and had been promoted to volunteer Crew Leader. I have now been doing this for 2 years and it is the most fulfilling work I could ever imagine for me in retirement.

In 2016, I started getting into EVs and Tesla. I was watching every Tesla Youtuber and learning more and more about the company. I ordered a Model 3 the day after it was announced and waited over 2 years before it was delivered. At some point in 2019, I decided after much research that $TSLA was going to be the best long-term investment and I moved all our IRA holdings into $TSLA. At the time, it was about $1.2M. Now, it's worth ~$15M.