Join Early Retirement Today

Retired ... but my 401(K) still with last employer...
Old 12-29-2012, 05:04 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Retired ... but my 401(K) still with last employer...

Hi All ~ I'm brand new to earlyretirement.org. Retired 1 yr ago @ age 62. Hoping to get advice/opinions. I'll try to be brief. My 401K ($190,000) is still with my employer---Why? Because I've got to find a financial advisor I can trust and whose fees won't cost me more than the return on my investment. Plus, investing is not my forte, so I need to trust whomever/wherever I leave my hard-earned money to treat me like a daughter! Sometimes I wonder if I'm better off just laddering the $ in CDs. However, I believe I can do better. In addition to the $190,000 in the 401K, I have about $235K in a couple of CDs and savings (I "chase" the highest interest rates), and $12K in savings bonds (don't mature until 2022 or thereabouts). I currently rent an apt. for $800/month (I'm fortunate). My pension and social security (SS starts in Feb) net about $3,140/month. Oh ya, and I may need to move from my apt, and would like to buy a small house.......................................
Thank you,
Suzi
suzi-c is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!