Retired Soldier ... so NOW.. maybe not...

the ole Sarge

Confused about dryer sheets
Yes Ladies and Gents,

I am a retired soldier. I did that at age 37. Now some 20 years later, I had hoped to be at least semi-retired and enjoying the remainder of my life. Well between my poor judgement in life (either picking a mate) or my profession and maybe BOTH, I am wondering if I will ever be able to retire.

Now, with the "Folks" in the National Capital deciding that I either "Wont fight for my EARNED benefits or figuring they will get the support of the 80% that NEVER serve, I may lose part (if not most) of my military pension.

So how do those of you that came from lower middle class professions (most of the US Military qualified for Public assistance while they were in the service) make it after you retire or semi- retire? I always planned on "doing" things.. I did NOT however plan on HAVING to maintain a 40 hour week job to my death.

Well between my poor judgement in life (either picking a mate) or my profession and maybe BOTH, I am wondering if I will ever be able to retire.

....So how do those of you that came from lower middle class professions make it after you retire or semi- retire?
The obvious (and brutal) answer is "made better personal and professional choices, lived below our means, saved, invested and had a bit of luck which enabled us to support ourselves in retirement."

Did you just want to vent or is there some advice you are seeking from the forum?

If you were much younger and about to retire from the military rather than like me having been retired for 20 years you would have something to complain about. As it is our pensions will be protected from any serious cuts.

Let's see.....I served 4 years, combat during V/N, got out, went to college (paid my own way with $200/month G.I. Bill), got a job, worked for 30+ years, lived below our means, saved a lot and now we are OK.

I'm sure there are lots of other vets here that did it one way or another.