Retiring at end of the year. Hi I am Ken

Romer

Recycles dryer sheets
Hi, I am Ken

I have been an engineer in the Aerospace Industry for 38 years. Working at two of the largest companies

I have been very fortunate to have earned a pension. I actually had two, but cashed the first one out when I moved to the 2nd company. In 12 years at company two, my current pension is 2.5 items the value of Company 1 over 20 years. But that is because I was an executive at Company 2

The cashed out Pension and movement of my first two 401Ks enabled me to have a good sized investment base and boy did I learn the value of compounding earnings

Being an engineer I tend to model everything and research things before I make a decision. I am working to better educate myself about investing after retirement as I want to mange my own investments rather than pay someone. This site, Bogleheads.org and Jane Quinn's book on How to make money last have ben excellent sources of information

Up to now I have been focused on when I can retire with a guess at yearly expenses and social security to tell me the when.

Now I will have to learn how to focus on being retired (Jan) and how that changes in how we manage our money and expenses

I have been married for 35 years (same woman :) ) I have 3 daughters who are all successful on their own, a Lawyer, Nurse and an Engineer. All three are married to great and successful men. I am a car guy, why I have a 6 car garage (4 cars and a Australian Camper). I restored a 47 year old Toyota Land Cruiser as one of my hobbies

I would consider myself very fortunate and being able to maintain my current lifestyle through retirement with some current hobbies getting more time and learning some new ones to take on new projects. I Bought a welder and will learn how to use it is one thing I have planned :) Along with more offroad expedition trips and traveling internationally with my wife. She doesnt come on the offroad trips, but the daughters still do