Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Sabbatical: What story to tell my employer?
Old 03-30-2017, 04:10 AM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

Sabbatical: What story to tell my employer?

I have been working for the government for 18 years but for the agency that currently employs me for only one year in June. My work conditions allow for a sabbatical after 7 years of government employment. However start and end dates are negotiable.
My plan is to take a one year sabbatical starting in July and not come back at the end. I have been mulling over what to tell my employer.

Option 1 : the truth: I want out but as I am still young (45), I want to make sure I am not making a mistake.

Option 2: my husband is taking a sabbatical and we would like to do this together (implying that I will come back, which might seem more acceptable).

Option 3: wait longer so that taking a sabbatical will be more acceptable after a longer period of employment for my current employer. However, I don't think that I would wait longer than December of this year.

Any advice?
freed2017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!