Software Engineer with an offering submitted for your approval!

Retireatee1

Dryer sheet wannabe
Hello all, occasional forum peruser and new member here.

I'm a software engineer by trade and have been working on building my own retirement simulator. I was frustrated by the inflexibility and limitations of the available free tools I could find, so clearly it made sense to build my own totally from scratch rather than shell out for a paid one. :LOL: So enter the Retireator. This started off as my personal financial planner, and evolved into a sophisticated, full-featured platform. I decided to release it as free software GPL'd under GNU Affero v3.0. Development is hosted as a public open source project on GitHub. So I've been working on it in my spare time for about two years and launched a basic website for it in September of last year complete with downloads and documentation. Version 2017.0327 was released yesterday.

I have looked at the FIRECalc site which is popular on this forum. It is quite sophisticated, but focuses in different areas from my tool. I'd say my tool does a better job at modelling a portfolio drawdown and performing incremental "what if" analyses. In addition, the tool is built entirely in Excel!

I look forward to any feedback from the community and plan to keep the tool completely free moving forward and hope there will be some interest in it.

Have a look!

Retireator.org – Retireate Away!

Larry

Looks very interesting. I'm waiting for the board quants to report back on their findings before I play with this. :)

Edit: And thanks for the GNU approach.

I've only played with it a very small bit. Some thoughts:

I like the open source model, but wonder why you tied it into a paid/proprietary program like Microsoft Excel. (And windows).

People might be nervous enabling macros from something downloaded from the internet. (Disclaimer I saw no bad effects do it appears to be safe)