Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Starting my descent to ER...Am I missing anything?
Old 08-29-2009, 10:04 PM   #1
Dryer sheet aficionado

Starting my descent to ER...Am I missing anything?

Hello everyone! I've been browsing the Forum for a couple of years and dreaming of ER. Well, the time has finally come. I am looking at ER on 9/30/09. Even though I am very confident with the plan, I wonder if there is a rock I've failed to overturn.

I am 53yoa and DW is 44. We have 3 kids (14,11,10), and practice living BOM. I have over 35 years of combined state and local government service (including 3 yrs. military purchase). Because each retirement system honors the service in the other, I am eligible for 2 separate lifetime pensions, one of which is COLA. Combined, I will gross $5,435 per month or net $700 more per month than I currently do. This arrangement includes 100% joint survivor for one pension and a guaranteed payment term of 15 years for the other. In other words, I'll receive the combined $5,435 for life, but if I die before 68 yoa, my wife gets $2,475 per month for life, and $2,960 per month until I would have turned 68. At 62, Social Security will add about $1,500 per month, and I also have a 401K with about $25K. I plan to beef-up the 401K with part of the extra $700 monthly pension. Also, I will receive fully paid health insurance until Medicare kicks in at which time the coverage will be secondary. I also have a $400K life insurance policy.