Join Early Retirement Today

Step into my Sickbay...
Old 07-23-2011, 05:23 PM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

Step into my Sickbay...

Oh hello there, forums. I've been lurking for a couple weeks now. Its nice to meet all of you.

I found ER a few weeks ago searching financial terms on Google. I'm normally an introvert but this seems like too good of an opportunity for advice to pass up. I don't really have anyone to talk to about money in real life.

I am a scientist at a pharmaceutical company. I keep people from killing other people. I enjoy good SciFi and bad High Fantasy. I'm married to a software guy and we have successfully passed on our selfish genes. We're currently watching Star Trek: The Next Generation from start to finish on Netflix, hence the screen name.

The money situation:

We are 31 and 33. We have 450k or so. (A dotcom job in one's early twenties plus a poor girlfriend who believes in going Dutch = big savings). I currently bring in 60K. DH is a stay-at-home-parent and he brings in about 10K through side projects. Based on our costs for the last 6 months and including taxes I think we'll spend 52k this year so that leaves us with 18K to add to our nest egg.

We're not at all organized with investing, so my first goal was to figure out what our assets are. That's done and I have a list in Excel. I've also done a bunch of reading about Asset Allocation and Portfolio theory. Step two will be to figure out Asset Allocation and choose ETFs.

The toddler is up from his nap but I have some questions:

1) Is there a single International ETF that will give me exposure to everything? (Developed and Emerging Markets, Value and Growth, at least some exposure to small-caps and maybe even micro-caps)? I'll read up on your suggestions.

2) Given that only one of us has a um, thing that starts with a j and ends with a b, how much would you keep in an emergency fund? Rent, bills and groceries for 12 months? Where would you keep it? Savings account?