Thoughts on peer to peer lending

mikecan

Confused about dryer sheets
I was looking up ways to earn passive income and peer to peer lending came up as an option. Does anyone have any experience with this? For example, Lending Club states that returns by grades A-C have been about 4.5 to 8.25%

I would appreciate any insight if this is a viable option to earn some decent returns.

Thank you.

Yep. I would not **** her with your ****.

I have been dabbling in it for about 17 months. I have purchased a total of 246 notes and of those 15 have been paid off early, 3 charged off, and 3 that are late. Of those 3 I expect to lose 2 of them and salvage 1 on the trading platform. My adjusted IRR taking the charged off ones out is 13.9%. Most notes are C, D, and a few E. I took CFBs screen as a starting point and have modified. One reason my IRR is lower is that for a while I used an automated screening tool to purchase and I really made it conservative with C notes as I didn't look at it hardly at all. I am back to more actively purchasing so I go after a lot of D notes. Good notes will be fully funded in 2 min or less.

One of the major rules that I enacted comes from my interpretation of the Richest Man in Babylon. "Don't break the back of the borrower or their problems will become yours. So DTI has to be less than 15% and the amount of the loan payment can be no more than 10% of their monthly income." I also have moved off of renters. The latter probably not a big deal but I just made that decision.

Of my notes there has been only 1 that I could not find a correlation to that was written off. I thought I missed something in my logic however I chalk it up to a statistical outlier. The others could have been caught if I was watching more. However it was not worth my effort during that time period.

JDARNELL

For REWahoo, brewer and Derslickmeister, is your disdain for these from personal experience or just in principle?