Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Too late, coulda and shoulda retired already.
Old 06-02-2006, 02:13 AM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.

Too late, coulda and shoulda retired already.

Hello from Savannah GA,
...Time for me to log in. I have been reading here for several weeks. I like what I have read and admire the willingness of people here to share information.* I have seen several excellent threads that have made me readjust my thinking about life and FIRE.
...I and my wife are both 53. I retired from flying Chinooks in the army in 93 and went back to college to get a degree in nursing. I have been working parttime nights for the last ten years on an ortho floor in a level 1 trauma center. In case that sounds impressive it is actually messy work in what is commonly called the county hospital. I like the work but find that it intrudes too much into my play/hobby time. My wife teaches economics and psychology in a public high school and is working on yet another advanced degree. She likes her job and plans to keep at it for another 5 or 6 years. Our kids are grown and on their own. The house is paid for and we are debt free. Our expenses are small compared to our earnings and so we have been saving for early retirement for a long time.* Trouble is compared to many of you I am already too late for an "early" retirement. I could have retired some time ago but*mrsjclarksnakes would have been difficult to live with if I was doing nothing* and she was working. She could start collecting a pension next year and does agree that after that she will be working solely because she wants to and I can retire and not have her too PO'd at me. With my current pension and her pension*after she retires we will probably not need to take more than 1 or 2 percent each year from our IRAs, 401s, 403bs, savings etc. Both our pensions are/will be inflation adjusted and I see Social Security as a further hedge against inflatio