Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Very New To Everything but learning Quickly, need your advice!
Old 11-25-2016, 11:12 AM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

Very New To Everything but learning Quickly, need your advice!

Hi all! First off I will start by saying that Reddit brought me here and I am learning alot just by trolling and reading different threads and posts. I will start by giving me financial details and lack there of.

I do need your help in just getting started, I looked for a thread like this but couldn't find anything am I am assuming it's becasue every situation is different. Please forgive me if I leave out any info I can provide it upon asking!

I am a single 28 yr ol male that has a 5 year old daughter and lives and work in Northern Virginia as a Recruiter. I am a contractor (Hopefully will convert soon). I currently have a daughter that is 5.

I currently make 110,000/yr.. I do have a small 401K set up in fidelity and have less than 10,000 in it because I just have been living under a rock for the past 10 years and I don't know how to invest. I will start by spelling out some debt and my financial situation I need some help on where to start!

Salary-110,000
401k- currently have 6,500 no employer match.
Savings- I have a small saving but I am trying to pay off debt so that number isn't really relevant.

Assets- None. I rent and still have a car loan.

Debt (I was terrible with money when I was younger and everything has changed as I grow up. this has been a huge work in progress for me and I'm learning how to seriously budget and get things paid off)

Car- 3K left to pay off.
CC #1- 3,300 balance
CC#2- 5,500 Balance
Line of Credit- 2,800 balance
Tuition/Navient- 14,5000 left to pay off.

Here is an idea of my monthly expenses.

rent- 1500
daycare-600
Pre-school- 340
Internet-40
Phone bill-55 (just switch from Verizon paying 160 a month to Straight talk, best move ever)
Electric- 70