Join Early Retirement Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Vision 2020?
Old 12-08-2018, 05:01 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6
Vision 2020?

Hi all,
I am 40 and my wife is 32 and we just got married. I am a naturalized US citizen and big reason for RE is to work on a business/be free of the corporate routine(17+ years now), travel more, visit my family in my country of origin etc. Hopefully will be able to do it by 2020. We are not planning to have kids but if we do it will be just one. I started thinking about FIRE several years back when I was going through a rough patch at work. I feel like I have been moving the goalposts as time goes on. Overall I have about $500K in 401K mostly in index funds and bonds and hopefully it will triple in 20+years at the rate of about 6%. SS if I stop working today should come out to $2K per month in today's dollars starting in 2045 and my wife should get around $1K based only on my current earnings according to the SS calculator.
Outside of this there is about $1 million in after tax savings which about 50% in growth/dividend stocks yielding about $20K/year and remaining 50% in cash deposits (CDs etc.) hopefully yielding another $20K/year when fully invested (have access to some higher yield CDs in my country of origin which should balance out the lower yields here). High amount of cash is mostly waiting for a recession/investment opportunities.
Also have another $1 million in Real estate equity spread across primary home and two investment properties and total rental yield is about $20K/year. Two of these will be paid off in 10 years (for a COLA bump in the middle of early retirement) which would be an additional $2000+/month.
Even though we live in a big city our core expenses are fairly small and would total about $3500/month without health insurance. Currently have health insurance through my employer and HSA has about $20K. Insurance is probably the big unknown here to RE since my wife's job is currently temporary so we would have to get our own if I leave my job which would be range from $300-$700/month for a bronze plan depending on our income. Most of our general care would probably in my country of origin and this insurance would only be for any major items. I am an only child and my parents have a reasonable income though I have set aside some amount for emergencies and they also have assets of $1 million+ which I will likely inherit but am not including that for my calculations. Post retirement will mostly be in the US unless my wife also wants to quit(she is not ready yet) at which point it will be about 6 months in the US, 3 months with my parents and 3 months in another country/with friends which should hopefully help in keeping expenses down and paying for that travel.
So in summary
401k - $500K
Non retirement assets - $1 million (income $40K)
Real estate - $1 million(income $20K now/$40K in 10 years after 2 pay offs)
Expenses - $3500/month + $300-$700/month Obamacare (based on income)
SS - $2K/month in 2045 and 1K/month in 2052.
topcat2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-08-2018, 05:41 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Tampa
Posts: 6,884
Welcome to our wonderful site. Have you run your numbers through the Firecalc calculator located within this site?
IIRC, a WR% that works for a 50 year retirement is around 3.15%.
It sounds like you are in shape financially.
Have you thought about the non retirement aspects of a 50+ year retirement? If you do have a child, it can change various aspects of retirement plans.
Will your wife be fine with you not working, while she is working?
Dtail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 07:29 AM   #3
Recycles dryer sheets
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 291
Seems an easy GO

If your need is $3500 (core expenses) and say $1000 health care ins. = $4500

Income from Real Estate = $1666/mo (4500 need - $1666 = $2834 need )
$1,000,000 in non retirement assets x 3% = $2,500/mo --- ( $2834 need - 2500 = $334 need)
$500,000 in 401K can do a conservative 72t withdrawal @ well over $700/mo more than covers the $334 need left

SS is gravy
Inheritance Gravy
USAF Veteran -- Retired Air National Guard -- OSW -- ONW -- OIF
militaryman is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is it possible my vision is improving? Khan Health and Early Retirement 18 11-29-2008 11:15 AM
A New Vision of Retirement hocus Young Dreamers 17 02-08-2005 08:29 AM

» Quick Links

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:48 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.