Join Early Retirement Today

Old 03-19-2013, 08:00 AM   #101
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaharris05 View Post
Unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on how you choose to look at it), when I was trying to decide what to do with my life money was not a factor. I chose counseling/psychology because I want to help people and do therapy. I knew the earning potential once I earned my PhD was high, but I never thought about earning potential along the way. Additionally, when I chose my field I did not have a child, so my only financial concern was taking care of myself (much easier than supporting myself and 2 children will be). Yes, I should have done the research sooner, but I didn't. I can't change that now. I will focus on the future though and how I can make things better. I will definitely find the book mentioned above and see what else I can do. I don't want to give up on getting a PhD in Psychology, but until I get there, I need to do something that provides more income.
Well, things have changed. Your children need financial security. That should be your first priority.
Meadbh is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!