Working on it in small southern town

Small southern town

Confused about dryer sheets
I am working hard, focusing all my energy on educating myself to make smart decisions so I can reach my goal of FIRE 2028.

[mod edit]

I have zero debt; I contribute:
*17% taxes
*22% before taxes to 401K. Will slightly increase this to max of IRS limit soon. YTD ROR is 10.57%. One year ROR is 19%. Account with Fidelity.
*26% to savings account. I want to decrease this by using this money elsewhere to work for me. Of course, leaving emergency fund intact.
*4% to HSA. Will be increasing this in October to meet max contribution next year.
*4.5% to Health and Insurance
*15% to checking account for all expenses
*4% to assist child until graduation

How am I doing? Is FIRE feasible in 2028?
What are your suggestions for investing the cash?
What are good resources to educate yourself for investing?
Any thoughts appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator:
I am far from an expert and somewhat conservative. I would take maybe 60-70% of that cash and start investing in low cost index funds (Fidelity or Vanguard). Of these monies, invest approx.25% in low cost int'l funds. Invest this sum a little at a time (i.e. $5,000 per month) or as they call it DCA. Remaining balance keep as a rainy day fund.

What is your stock bond allocation in the 401k? If you are comfortable with it, keep the same ratio over all your investments = keeping all bond money in the 401k since bond funds are not tax efficient.

Run the Firecalc calculator to see if retirement in 2028. I would say you are fine given your savings habits plus social security would be coming your way starting in 2032.

Wish I had a small condo on the water.

Good book to read is - The Bogleheads Guide to investing.

Last edited:
I am working hard, focusing all my energy on educating myself to make smart decisions so I can reach my goal of FIRE 2028.

[mod edit]

*17% taxes