Your thoughts on my FIRE plan...

jimbohoward69

Recycles dryer sheets
Hello there everyone,

I'm not a newbie per se...I've posted many times on various forums here. But wanted to get your thoughts and insights on my current plan. I just turned 50 this month. I'm single, retired military, went back to work for the federal government for seven years, and then left that job back in December of 2019. Live in the Midwest and have been a renter my whole life (but would like to buy one of these days). My goal has always been to "retire for good" at some point in my fifties...just wasn't sure when.

Here are my details:

Assets:

• $41K in taxable MM account (earning 1.3%)...emergency/down payment fund
  • $46K in TD/Ameritrade account (500 shares of Abbott Labs)
  • $38K in Vanguard taxable brokerage (just liquidated to cash)
  • $306K in Thrift Savings Plan (Traditional)
  • $1.2K in Thrift Savings Plan (Roth)
  • $124K in Vanguard Roth IRA
  • Total: $556K (Allocation of stocks/bonds/cash: 48/37/15)
Current/Future Annual Retirement Income:
  • $26.8K (current military pension - net after taxes)
  • $19.9K (current VA pension - tax free)
  • $18.3K (SS at age 62)
  • $5.5 K (deferred civil service pension at age 62)
  • Annual Total: $47K annually now / $71K annually at age 62 (all four adjusted for inflation (CPI-W))
Regarding expenses, I've kept track of them in Quicken since 2001. I'm using $70K per year as my benchmark (last year's expenses...but I made almost $130K in salary/pensions). The $70K included basic things like rent, utilities, etc...plus lots of discretionary spending such as lunches/dinners in which I paid the entire bill, 3-4 vacations, lots of concerts, etc. Bottom line, I don't plan on spending that much annually going forward but would rather be more conservative than not.

Other than a $350/month car payment (0.9% interest / paid off in 2022), I have zero debt. My FICO score is 800+. I also have great health insurance through Tricare.

FIRECalc: