A W9 form for the HOA?

joeea

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I'm the treasurer of our over-55 HOA.

I recently got a request from Wells Fargo to fill out a W9 form.

It says "We are updating our records to reflect the current information for any
Homeowners Association that collects the HOA fees for property located at
[the address of one of our units]."

I'm new to this position, but I haven't found notes indicating that this form has been requested in the past.

Any idea what is going on here? I'm only familiar with W9s in the context of independent contractors, not mortgage holders.

I do know that the tenants of this unit have had some financial hardship recently.

do the HOA fees get paid out of an escrow account?

I think I would ignore it.

I tend to agree :) The only reason why they would need this information is if your account is interest-bearing and they have to report that interest to the IRS. Usually, they collect that info when you open your account, so I'm pretty sure they already have it on file and I don't know why they would need to "update" it.

I tend to agree :) The only reason why they would need this information is if your account is interest-bearing and they have to report that interest to the IRS. Usually, they collect that info when you open your account, so I'm pretty sure they already have it on file and I don't know why they would need to "update" it.

The HOA has absolutely no connection with Wells Fargo (the bank that is requesting the W9). It's only this one homeowner who appears to be associated with them.

Our money is kept in several interest-bearing accounts at other banks.

Last edited:
do the HOA fees get paid out of an escrow account?

I had the same thought. Before proceeding, perhaps a chat with this homeowner would clear it up.