Converting vinyl to digital

DeborahB

Full time employment: Posting here.
Has anyone used the ION conversion turntable to turn LPs (33 rpm) to digital? I bought one and then never hooked it up. It was on sale so cheaply I couldn't resist it. :D

Any hints would be very welcome!

I just ordered an Ion this weekend. I should get it this week. I am a newbie on this also. Hopefully it will be an easy process.

A link to the make/model you purchased would help us to help you. A quick google showed a wide range of units matching "ION conversion turntable".

-ERD50

My set up is an Audio Technica, but I'd imagine the process is the same. You need to record the vinyl to digital, edit the sides into tracks, tag the songs, apply any effects to clean it up if necessary, then convert to mp3 or whatever format you'll want. It is a pain and time consuming, although the music sounds OK for the most part. I found using the library's CD collection is way better, then any albums that they don't have I just get it online.

Have not used the ION. I do agree that converting can be time consuming. Generally, if it is an album I really like, I find it best to either buy the CD or download the songs. That way, I convert only the stuff that is not available on CD.

I agree with David 1961. Converting analog music to digital is a tedious and boring job and unless the particular track is very rare, it should be located on CD. Nevertheless, I understand the attraction of duplicating a song exactly as you remember it -- the identical scratches, for instance, Therefore, there are several solution available:

First, you need a turntable that plugs into the video card in your computer. A Google search will give you many choices.

Then you need a software program that will capture the sound being pumped thrpugh your speakers. I have used the following with excellent results:

Audio/Video Recorder, Editor, Converter. Capture streaming video and audio.