“Day after” holidays?

steelyman

Moderator Emeritus
Hopefully everyone is settling back, or soon will be, after a Happy Thanksgiving spent in your way (and any traveling done for at least now).

I wonder how many are like me in really enjoying the immediate post-holiday days (no, not “Black Friday” specials on- or off-line)?

I’m talking day-after-Thanksgiving/Christmas, New Year’s Day. They’re much calmer but still carry a holiday spirit (or buzz for some) and some are lucky to have the day off from the job.

They’re fantastic days to take a long walk too (weather permitting)!

I have to work, but this year the rest of my family is off.

Enjoy your Friday!

I work tomorrow night. My last Thanksgiving weekend working. We live far from family, so our Thanksgivings are quiet ones. I also have Christmas Day off but then work the next four days. I’ve been working many holidays since internship in 1984. I cried that first holiday-I had been married 6 months. In 2010 I worked every holiday. Every single one. Winter, summer, didn’t matter.

I’m so over this. All of it.

I have always loved the day after holidays . You can spend the whole day in your Pj's eating leftovers and just chilling . What is not to like ?

Looking forward to NOT traveling on the high stress days this Thanksgiving, i.e. especially the Sunday after. We're traveling on off days and being flexible in travel days to avoid weather. No need to go back to The Man on his terms. :)

Last edited:
It depends where I celebrate the holiday in question. If it's at home and I am hosting, chances are the day after is a big clean up day. Ugh. If it's at someone else's house, then yes, the day after is relaxing and enjoyable - unless I traveling back home!

My favorite days are any day when I don’t have to work and everyone else does.

2-1/2 years retired, and I still get a kick out of telling people "yeah... I have the day off today."