earned income

wabmester

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
2003 was my first full year without a salary, but I did receive about $10K for a little consulting work (1099). I find that this amount is just about perfect in that it allows me to deduct expenses such as health insurance, and I still have enough left over to contribute to an IRA.

I plan to find other small streams of business income while still maintaining a retired status and lifestyle, and I'm curious about a couple of things:

1) If others are doing this and what sort of things you're doing. I figure just about anybody on this board could run a little side-biz doing financial planning or tax prep, for example.

2) Are there any legit ways to turn passive income into earned income? I know the IRS is cracking down on tax shelters, but what about forming a corp to hold investments and pay you an income without any tax shelter component?

After I semiretired in 1993,, I worked part time for a
CPA (I used to be an accountant) for about 6 months.
Then, I moved to Tx. on a consulting contract which
lasted 4 years (some part time - some full time).
I could have continued, but they wanted full time
work and I wasn't interested any more. It did help
a lot with my decision to retire totally.

When I retired in '93, I owned a small manufacturing co.
I shut it down, but it continues on as a personal
holding company (PHC). Most all of the income is passive (rents, royalties, etc.) This works fine,
except there are draconian tax hits on PHC profits.
This problem can be avoided by paying the profits
out to the shareholders as dividends..

John Galt

Curious as to the impact on health insurance. As this is a major concern for many (note the amount of posts on this site) having a small business allow you to deduct the cost? Second it may allow you to join a group of co-op that could roll you into a group plan at hopefuly a better rate than you could receive alone.

Justs a thought

Happy New Year to all