Join Early Retirement Today

Garbage Service + Composting
Old 12-28-2011, 05:40 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Garbage Service + Composting

My local garbage service company charges $79.95 per quarter for 1 garbage pickup/week and 1 recycle pickup/2 weeks. I have been composting for a few years with great success, and I would estimate at least 90% of our garbage, mainly fruit/vegetable peels, goes to our compost bin. So I only need to have at most 1 garbage pickup per month, sometimes even less. Even that the volume is very low, only a small bag. I talked with my garbage company and I do understand their point that they can not offer monthly pickup service because it's impossible for their drivers to keep track. Apparently I don't have any other options where I live.

Just wondering if anyone has the similar experience, and if there is any initiative in where you live to encourage and reward people to reduce garbage being produced and sent to landfill or incineration. A few years back, I watched a news of city Taipei in Taiwan about their policy to charge fees based on the weight of garbage each household sends in. They have a digital scale at each garbage collection truck. Not sure if this policy will ever gain popularity in US.
ratto is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!