Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Gas Furnace Inducer Fan Cycling
Old 06-26-2020, 11:36 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 5,045
Gas Furnace Inducer Fan Cycling

The inducer motor on our 20 yr old gas furnace runs intermittently (like 30 seconds every 2 minutes) and cycles back off....as if the pressure switch has failed to signal the burner that is it OK to ignite. I also notice the circulation fan is running constantly while this occurs. At the time the programmable t-stat is set to "auto fan". "cool", temperature set to 77' and room temp is 76'. Compressor runs and cools normally when I change setpoint to 75'. I'm not sure yet if the inducer is cycling like this when the AC is running.

I see several videos and forum posts about problems with the pressure switches but I haven't found any explanation for why the gas starting sequence is being activated in the middle of summer. I did notice this occurred last summer too, but I never got around to doing anything about it. The heating worked fine all winter.
__________________

__________________
...with no reasonable expectation for ER, I'm just here auditing the AP class.Retired 8/1/15.
jazz4cash is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-26-2020, 07:43 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
travelover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12,384
I wonder if it is a thermostat problem as in the cool mode it seems like the furnace should not be energized and therefore not go through a sequencing.
__________________

travelover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2020, 10:50 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Telly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,774
I agree with travelover.

Either at the thermostat or at the furnace, whichever is easier, you could temporarily disconnect the wire that calls for heat. If the proper color code has been followed, it should be the White wire.

If this stops the draft inducer motor from starting up and running the purge/vent-check 30 second cycle, then the thermostat is the problem.
__________________
-- Telly, the D-I-Y guy --
Two fools dancing on the hands of time
Telly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 03:03 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 5,045
Ok Iíll fool around with the t-stat. Your suspicions are consistent with some speculation on the HVAC expert forum wrt the t-stat draining power causing ghost signals (yeah I know how that sounds). Plus I see the batteries were last replaced in Ď09! Yeah I put them date on Ďem back then I guess. Itís a great tstat-one of the first programmable stats available and Iíve had Ďem in my last 3 houses with no problems. Itís a Lux.
__________________
...with no reasonable expectation for ER, I'm just here auditing the AP class.Retired 8/1/15.
jazz4cash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 05:29 PM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Sunset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Spending the Kids Inheritance and living in Chicago
Posts: 9,455
My A/C stopped working, because my t-stat batteries were old.
At first I thought it was a big issue, then I found the batteries, and replaced them and everything worked well.

Now I stick a piece of paper in with the batteries so I know how old they are.
__________________
Fortune favors the prepared mind. ... Louis Pasteur
Sunset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 08:10 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 5,045
Sunset, did your tstat use battery backup or was that the main power source? All ours are hard-wired so the battery is for backup.
__________________
...with no reasonable expectation for ER, I'm just here auditing the AP class.Retired 8/1/15.
jazz4cash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 11:22 PM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Sunset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Spending the Kids Inheritance and living in Chicago
Posts: 9,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by jazz4cash View Post
Sunset, did your tstat use battery backup or was that the main power source? All ours are hard-wired so the battery is for backup.
My batteries are replaceable, normal AA batteries.
Not hard wired in.
__________________

__________________
Fortune favors the prepared mind. ... Louis Pasteur
Sunset is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cycling Heaven Quest usafmd Other topics 28 02-26-2019 12:33 PM
Can gas pressure problems hurt your furnace? Dreamer Other topics 7 02-17-2014 11:44 AM
Cost Saving- Furnace & Central A/C v. Room Heater/Electric Blanket & Room A/CUnit-Fan nico08 FIRE and Money 4 01-08-2012 11:52 PM
Cycling Thru Holland 2009 newlife06 Travel Information 20 07-03-2009 01:10 AM
Cycling the San Juans CyclingInvestor Travel Information 2 05-03-2009 06:50 PM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:17 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×