Join Early Retirement Today

Let's create a "lesson plan"
Old 01-31-2007, 07:55 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Let's create a "lesson plan"

I'm not sure if this goes here in OTHER or perhaps MONEY AND FIRE.

I am not a professional teacher. I am not a licensed teacher. But I've been teaching one subject or another, for one agency or another, since 1975. I am considering approaching several school boards in the area with a proposal to teach an "elective" class titled "Real Life 101". Because as far as I can see NOBODY is prepping these kids for what happens outside of school and the spoon-feeding they are enjoying now.

So I am enlisting the wisdom of the collective to assist me in creating a lesson plan. Suggestions for inclusion are being sought. But please remember that I am aiming this material at 17 and 18 year olds. There will be no books to buy, no assigned reading, and the only homework will be internet research or personal interviews.

The plan is to offer this as an alternative to study hall, one day per week, per school, for maybe 10-12 weeks. The idea of giving kids an idea what they are REALLY up against, and how they could attain FIRE appeals to me.

Obviously, compound interest and steady investment have to be included. Then perhaps one day of discussion about the changing face of the job market, and how nowadays people who stay with one company their entire working life are VERY rare.

So what do YOU wish someone had taught you before you hit the REAL WORLD!?
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!